Finalists determined for CFFL National Championships

by FBC

National Championships to be held in Saskatoon in late July

By Ameeta Vohra

After two weeks of competition in three regions, six teams have moved on to the Canadian Flag Football League (CFFL) Championships.

The Central Regional Championships were held at University of Ottawa.  Gold went to the Ottawa Piranhas who fought hard against the Montreal Braves to win with a final score of 34-20.

Tournament MVPs were Mitch Duggan (Piranhas) and Alex Pilon (Braves).

This past weekend at Mount Allison University’s Alumni Field in Sackville, New Brunswick, the Elite continued their winning streak by defeating DMB 26-13 in the gold medal game to be crowned Eastern Regional Champions.

Stuart Clow (Elite) and Rhett Thompson (DMB) were selected as Tournament MVPs.

At the same time, the Western Regional Championships were held in Winnipeg, Manitoba.  “Sask South” (Previously the Monstars) was crowned champions after the team pulled out a 38-33 victory over Saskatchewan North. Team Canada took home bronze after earning a 33-25 win over MMW.

For their performances during the tournament, Mitch Hillis (Saskatchewan North) and Evan Fornwald (Sask South) were awarded MVP honours.

Each gold medal winning team takes home $1500.00 in prize money while the silver medalists earn $1000.00.

Both the gold and silver medalists from each of the three regional events move on to the CFFL National Championship to be held July 26-28, 2019 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. This will be an eight team tournament consisting of the winners of each Regional tournament, Team Canada, as well as a team that the Saskatchewan host may choose. The National Championship will also include 7 female flag teams from across the country along with the existing Team Canada competing for that number one spot.

The stakes will be high at this event as the first place teams will become the core of the national team that represents Canada at the 2020 International Federation of American Football (IFAF) World Flag Championships.  The winners will also earn $2000.00 in prize money while the second place finishers receive $1500.00.

Stay In Touch

Join our mailing list

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and updates.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact