Make it 3. Canada Achieves Historic Threepeat with Victory over Japan in IFAF U20 World Championship Gold Medal Game 

by Braydon Stachel

Edmonton, Alberta – June 30, 2024: Canada secured an unprecedented threepeat at the 2024 IFAF U20 World Championships with a commanding 20-9 victory over Japan in the Gold Medal Game held at Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton. This win marks Canada’s third consecutive championship title, solidifying their dominance in international junior football scene. 
Japan made history by claiming the silver medal, their best-ever finish in the tournament. 
The game opened with Japan taking an early lead through a 44-yard field goal by Yudai Naka. However, Canada’s defense quickly made an impact with Benjamin Blaise intercepting a pass from Japan’s Nobuaki Kobayashi, setting the stage for Canada’s offensive response. Leonard Lemay’s ground attack drove Canada into the red zone, and quarterback Pepe Gonzalez connected with Nathan Carignan for a touchdown, giving Canada a 7-3 lead early in the second quarter. 

A 35-yard field goal by Jayden Rice extended Canada’s lead to 10-3 at halftime. The second half saw Canada’s defense continue to stifle Japan’s offense, with game MVP Isaac Pepin making a crucial interception to halt a Japanese comeback attempt. 

Canada capitalized on a turnover inside Japan’s red zone, with Mika Lapostolle scoring a touchdown to increase the lead to 20-3. Despite a late touchdown by Japan, connecting Kobayashi with Yosei Takahashi, the missed extra point ensured Canada could run down the clock to secure their victory. 

“After the first practice this squad held, we knew we had something special and we built a championship culture and all these kids really executed what we wanted to do,” said Canada head coach Warren Craney. 

Gold Medal Game Summary: 

  • Final Score: Canada 20, Japan 9 
  • Canada’s Key Players: Pepe Gonzalez (QB), Nathan Carignan (WR), Leonard Lemay (RB), Isaac Pepin (MVP, DB), Jayden Rice (K/P), Benjamin Blaise (LB) 
  • Japan’s Key Players: Nobuaki Kobayashi (QB), Taisei Urushibara (RB), Yudai Naka (K), Asahi Sakai (DB) 

Additional Awards: 

  • Offensive Standouts: 
  • Austria: Michael Szabo (QB) 
  • Japan: Taisei Urushibara (RB), Nobuaki Kobayashi (QB) 
  • Canada: Charles Fortin (RB), Pepe Gonzalez (QB) 
  • Defensive Standouts: 
  • USA: Matt Jung (DB) 
  • Austria: Noel Swancar (LB) 
  • Canada: Benjamin Blaise (LB) 
  • Japan: Asahi Sakai (DB) 
  • Special Teams Standouts: 
  • Canada: Jayden Rice (K/P) 
  • Austria: Lorenz Kriwak (K) 
  • USA: Matt Jung (PR/KR) 

For more information and updates, visit and follow Football Canada and Football Alberta on social media. 

(H/T: MIchael Preston, IFAF)

Stay In Touch

Join our mailing list

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and updates.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact