Women’s National Championship to be held in 2015

by footballcanada

Football Canada is proud to announce the hosting of a Senior Women’s National Championship in August 2015. The national championship builds on the first Women’s Challenge Cup which was held in August 2012 in Montréal, Quebec.

“Women’s tackle football continues to develop at a rapid rate across Canada. Teams now exist in 7 provinces with the addition of Ontario,” stated Football Canada Executive Director, Shannon Donovan.

“The women’s national championship will not only foster growth of female tackle football across Canada but will also serve as the start of the identification process for Canada’s 2017 National Team.”

Brief history of women’s tackle football in Canada

Canada’s first women’s tackle football league, the Maritime Women’s Football League was established in 2004 and has since grown from two to four teams across New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. In 2001, the Montreal Blitz, a semi-professional team which play in the Independent Women’s Football League Championships was established. The Blitz who play against U.S. based competition have won multiple league championships during their existence.

Following the inaugural IFAF Women’s World Championship in 2010 where Canada placed second; the Western Women’s Canadian Football League was established in 2011 and has since grown to eight teams across Saskatchewan, Alberta and Manitoba.

More details regarding the Women’s National Championship will be announced in the coming months.

Stay In Touch

Join our mailing list

Sign up to our newsletter to get the latest news and updates.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact